Skip to main content

Winners announced for 2017 Governor’s School STEM Awards

Monday, 27th November 2017

The winners of the third annual Governor’s School STEM Awards were recognised today at an awards ceremony at Government House.

Congratulations to Penhros College which won both the primary and secondary categories for 2017. The Perth girl’s school was recognised for its comprehensive and integrated STEM program, as well as its growing leadership and engagement on STEM matters across the education sector.

Meritorious Leadership Awards were presented to Brookman Primary School in Langford and Warwick Senior High School as the runners-up in the primary and secondary categories respectively.

Other schools who also do excellent STEM education work and were finalists for 2017 were Perth College and St Mary’s Anglican Girl’s School (Karrinyup) in the primary school category, and Comet Bay College (Secret Harbour), Hampton Senior High School (Morley) and St Mary’s Anglican Girl’s School (Karrinyup) in the secondary school category.

Her Excellency thanked all schools for participating and praised the commitment of  the principals and school leadership teams in developing their schools’ STEM education programs.

I sincerely congratulate all of the schools who entered this year, our finalists and our award winners, for their remarkable efforts in seeking to enhance their STEM education programs and, in turn, promoting the importance of STEM in the broader community.

It has been pleasing to see STEM education initiatives increasingly growing in our State and it is my hope that this will increase the number of young people developing their skills in STEM which are considered to be important to their success in the fastest growing jobs of the future,” Her Excellency said.

Her Excellency established the Governor’s School STEM Awards in 2015 and thanked the Minister for Science, and the Science and Innovation Division in the Department of Jobs, Tourism, Science and Innovation, for their important roles in supporting the Awards.

Find out more about the Awards on the Department of Jobs, Tourism, Science and Innovation website

Read the Minister for Science Dave Kelly MLA and Minister for Education and Training Sue Ellery MLC joint media statement

STEM Award Winners 2017

Click  on the photos below for more information and to save and enlarge