Skip to main content

Australian Honours

The Australian Honours System, established in 1976, recognises the special contribution Australian citizens make to their communities locally, nationally, and overseas through voluntary endeavour, and a wide range of service including the Arts, Industry, Commerce, Education, Health, Charities, the Professions, and the Armed Services, and acts of bravery.

For more information, please visit the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet ‘It’s an Honour’ website

How can I nominate a worthy Australian?

An Australian citizen can be nominated for an honour by any individual, a community organisation, a professional body, or similar group.

Nomination forms and further information about the Australian Honours System can be accessed at the Australian Honours and Awards Secretariat website

Nomination forms are also available from:

The Honours Secretariat
Government House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: (02) 6283 3533 

Please email if you have any questions about the nomination process.

Presentation of Honours in Western Australia

The names of recipients are announced on Australia Day, 26 January and on The Queen’s official birthday, usually the second Monday in June.

The Governor conducts Investiture Ceremonies in Government House Ballroom twice annually, usually in April and September (generally in the late afternoon), to formally invest Western Australian recipients with their national honours and awards.

The Governor’s Establishment will advise recipients of investiture ceremony arrangements in the weeks following the announcement of the awards.