Skip to main content

The Honourable Kim Beazley AC sworn-in as 33rd Governor of Western Australia

Tuesday, 1st May 2018

The Honourable Kim Beazley AC was sworn in as Western Australia’s 33rd Governor at a ceremony held in the Government House Ballroom tonight.

Governor Beazley was sworn-in by Chief Justice and Lieutenant Governor of Western Australia the Honourable Wayne Martin AC, in the presence of Premier Mark McGowan, Cabinet Ministers, former Premiers, the Leader of the State Opposition, family members, and wider community representatives.

Outgoing Governor the Honourable Kerry Sanderson AC, as well as former Governor the Honourable Malcolm McCusker AC CVO QC, and Mrs Tonya McCusker, and former Governor the Honourable Dr Kenneth Michael AC, also attended.

Governor Beazley paid tribute to his predecessor the Honourable Kerry Sanderson AC, who held the position for three and a half years.

Mr Beazley has a distinguished career of service to Australia as an academic, parliamentarian, Minister of the Crown, and Ambassador to Washington.

Read the Governor’s speech

Read the Premier’s media statement

View photos from the ceremony

For more information about the Honourable Kim Beazley AC, see About the Governor

To invite the Governor to an event, or for information on how to send correspondence, see Invite the Governor

Stay up-to-date on the Governor’s program

Check our Vice Regal Notices & Photos page for daily updates, or follow Government House on Twitter @GovHouseWA